Fellow students: this is only Season 1 of your life.

It’s the season of the rolling-out-of-grades and this post is mainly for my dear friends in uni who are upset or disillusioned by the grades they’re getting and the potential consequences of those grades. I’m not too happy about my grades either, and practically all of my applications for programs and work experience are way up in the air, pending…I just hope something lands in the bucket at the end.

Stress

Thing is, life is like a TV show. There are twists and turns and cliffhangers and heartbreaks, but good endings do eventually come at the end. It took Ted Moseby 9 seasons and 22 years to win the love of his life in How I Met Your Mother. I’m guessing many of you reading this aren’t even 22. So you’re still in the first few seasons of your life!

Fact is: you’re still young, you’re still figuring shit out. It’s okay to fail and make mistakes. A thousand mistakes are worth it if you get what you want in the end. And who knows, maybe you weren’t meant for what you think you want right now. Maybe the universe destined you for something else, something just as good, or even greater.

My dad has a very wise saying: see a step, walk a step. Life goes on. I believe the best rules are following what you love and following what you’re good at, and good things will automatically happen.

One thought on “Fellow students: this is only Season 1 of your life.

  1. “See a step, walk a step.” That’s great advice! It reminds me of the E. L. Doctorow quote: “Writing is like driving at night in the fog. You can only see as far as your headlights, but you can make the whole trip that way.” I guess that can apply to more of life than just writing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

leave some feedback

