Not of the “popular” opinion

Anonymous

A photo of the famous hacktivism group Anonymous, often associated  with free speech. But by hacking the websites of groups they disagree with, aren’t they in a way suppressing free speech? (Photo: Vincent Diamente, CC SA BY 2.0)

There is a “popular opinion” in our generation and culture. And if you’re not of the popular opinion, well, screw you.

It’s ironic because our generation is one that prizes human rights, and this includes freedom of speech and thought. We fight for people’s freedom of thought – oh, but only if you have fashionable thoughts. We fight for people’s freedom of religion – oh, but only if it’s the fashionable religion.

Freedom of speech means, well, freedom of speech. If someone doesn’t believe in gay marriage, they are allowed to say it, even if you’re uncomfortable with it. Now, there’s a difference between this and hate speech. While I think it’s acceptable for someone to voice their opinion against gay marriage under the doctrine of free speech, it’s unwarranted for them to start verbally assaulting gay people.

But, of course, the line between this stuff is a blurry grey.

I’ve realized that some of my opinions are not the “popular” opinion (side note: I fully support gay marriage! Go rainbows!). Which is odd, because I used to think I was an agreeable person… Most of the time, though, I don’t even know what my opinion is; I’m just able to look at both sides of things. I simply enjoy contributing an alternative argument to the conversation. And I feel so judged. (Or perhaps it’s just fashionable to hate devil’s advocates.)

Welcome to our so-called progressive generation.

3 thoughts on “Not of the “popular” opinion

  1. I am definitely 110% behind freedom of speech, even if what is said is pure bullshit. People can say stuff that is absolutely hateful and/or totally wrong, that I completely disagree with – but I still wouldn’t rather that they hadn’t been allowed to say it. I think one of the primary reasons that our society works is free speech, and while it may bring some bad things, without it, everything would crumble (jesus I sound American).

    And the “devil’s advocate” opinion is my favorite opinion! Whenever I read comments on news articles or on blog posts (ones with like, thousands of comments), I don’t stop reading until I’ve seen enough people comment from opposite points of view. It makes life (and thought) a little more interesting. And whenever I read something that I agree or disagree with, I’ll read the comments until I have enough reasons to doubt my opinion.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. When you say agreeable I assume you really mean you support and stand up for things. So it makes sense that you’d have strong support for things and if popular opinion condemns that thing you’d have to, well, still agree with your support for the condemned thing.
    Where do those unpopular opinions come from?
    Could one source be books? Books are narrated by both villains and heroes so I, too, feel uneasy when asked to pick sides, and good books don’t voice popular opinion without cross examining it.
    That “danger of only hearing a single side of the story” (I know you don’t want to hear more about post colonialism..haha) The danger of believing you have to find a single side to a story.
    I think it’s a good point you said it was a very blurry grey. Because between blurry lines, uncertain opinions, agreeability, it sounds like there no lines at all.

    Like

leave some feedback

