Weekend Wrap-up: mid-September

What a crazy week! I started on a new co-op work term and am now working for my university. I was welcomed by an exceedingly warm and friendly communications team of industry pros. At the same time, I’ve been reconnecting with uni friends I haven’t seen much all summer during my lunchtimes.

Now I’m in my PJs sipping a latte and shamelessly nodding to Lady Gaga. And going through my Internet reading list for this week’s Weekend Wrap-up.

latte

“Latte at Doppio Ristretto Chiang Mai 01” by Takeaway – Own work. Licensed under Creative Commons Attribution -Share Alike 3.0 via Wikimedia Commons.

Did you participate in the ALS Ice Bucket challenge? Would you like to donate to a cause that’s perhaps more desperate for funds? Here’s an infographic showing “the differences between the diseases we donate to, and the diseases that kill us”. (IFuckingLoveScience)

International Literacy Day was last Monday, September 8! To recall the celebrations, here are 10 funny and witty quotes from authors about reading (Interesting Literature). Also discover how adults learning to read are changing a village in China. (Free the Children and Huffington Post)

I haven’t watched the film adaptation of The Giver, but I’m interested to see how the book’s message changes with 18 year-old characters. Check out this review by Children’s Lit grad students from my university. (The Book Wars)

This is from a month ago, but I found it worthy to share: Tourists are encouraged not to bring a copy of George Orwell’s Nineteen Eighty-Four to Thailand. (The Telegraph)

A lost chapter from Roald Dahl’s timeless Charlie and the Chocolate Factory was apparently too violent and so cut from later drafts. It features a scene where a fudge-cutting machine is threatened to chop up kids. (TIME, the Guardian)

Why readers are the best people to fall in love with. Because, c’mon, we’re awesome 😉 (Elite Daily)

That’s all for this week! Have a refreshing weekend.

One thought on “Weekend Wrap-up: mid-September

leave some feedback

