Weekend Wrap-up: food, lots of poem stuff, and other stuff in between

Hope everyone has been enjoying a lovely weekend! I returned just a few hours before writing this post from a food crawl in the foodie side of town. In addition to choking on an impossibly spicy nitbit of some kind of freak pepper, in which half my face got numb as a result, I ate amazing stuff like this:

DSC_0998

DSC_0997

DSC_0988

DSC_0979

I came home and promptly fell asleep for 3 hours on account of food coma. Now for this week’s cool Internet schtuff…

On writing

  • Liz Peterson shares her love of villanelles (and other poetry forms) in this refreshing post about old-fashioned, old-school poetic structures. Made me inspired to write villanelles again, which I haven’t done since high school English assignments!
  • A thoughtful essay on grief and reason. This is a longer read, and I haven’t finished my exploration of it either, but as someone who’s lost important people in my life as well, it’s an interesting take.
  • Continuing on the theme of death, a short but powerful poem on the subject. This one caught my eye because I, too, have written a poem titled “Open Casket.” Maybe I’ll share that someday. Maybe not.
  • Departing from morbidity…a post on who we are when we write. I think I’m a different person when I write for sure: more eloquent, more thoughtful, less goofy, more mature. (Whether or not that makes me more boring…is debatable). Perhaps I’ll write a response to the topic of this post at a later date.
  • What do you do in your spare time? A very good question posed by this post. And one that forces one to face the facts, especially if you’re a sitcom-addicted professional procrastinator like myself who theoretically has the time to do interesting stuff but opts for TV marathons instead. More (possibly relatable?) roadblocks here.
  • I’d also like to share work from my schoolmates. This is the literary journal of my university’s English department, and clearly it’s filled with very talented, creative, and artistic people! This story in particular was an enjoyable read.

On other stuff

  • On managing first impressions. This was a post that caught my eye because I do this too. Consciously and subconsciously, I alter the first impression I make on people. Like the author of this post, this is not an attempt to be fake, but it can lead to isolation. I’m a very private person, and I’m also very self-conscious. I like people to think I’m cooler than I really am. Until they find out I’m just as dorky as them.

Some photographs courtesy of the lovely members of UBC Food Society

2 thoughts on “Weekend Wrap-up: food, lots of poem stuff, and other stuff in between

  1. I think a TV marathon helps with writing stories right?All those plot lines and characters 😉
    People are expecting two different things when they read vs speak to another person. They expect to find some truth in your writing, because your wrote it down; speaking in its mode and subject are usually ephemeral, because it has more of a social purpose than informational.
    Thus, writing being found as boring is a likely outcome in the social world but nonetheless I object my favourite way of communication: I am baffled by the way I get weird looks when I say I enjoyed particularly dry good-on-the-page lecture or speak in my writing voice. 😉

    Like

    • oh! Just read the Heart of a Lunatic post. Very good: that’s more articulate than I have ever been able to be. I attribute that to the writing being boring/speaking issue above…in writing you can be anybody, in speaking people expect you to be one person. But I’m not. I like to experience with different voices when writing and I use social situations to practice the different voices. They’re ALL me. The truest self can be said to bethe self I put on the page, but it couldn’t be reached unless I employed every register I have in my inventory first. How else do I gather real life experience for writing? Again, it might appear fake to other people, but experimenting with voices is what makes me me. Having the interest and ability to be authentic across different voices and then combine the experience of them all…is so much fun. X) But certainly, it can be a problem when people expect you to be one way all the time.

      Like

leave some feedback

