NaNoWriMo: Week 2 – What my characters taught me

NaNoWriMo2014Here’s to another week of NaNoWriMo, where freaks called writers attempt to write a 50,000-word novel in the month of November. Two weeks down, two more to go! (*clinks beer glasses*)

So how’s my novel-ing experience looking this week? Better than last week, that’s for sure. (Flashback: I’m using the “make-it-up-as-you-go-along” approach). I think I’m finally settling into my world, and have a better sense of what everything looks like. I was also pleasantly surprised by one of my characters. Initially she appeared out of the mist (literally and figuratively) just to fulfill a short-term task. But now that I’ve gotten to know her better, I can see she has way more potential than misty appearances. In fact, I plan on making her one of the more developed, central characters in my story.

I also noticed another character isn’t playing the same role I expected her to play. So far, she’s more of a thing being affected than something that affects. I’m not sure how I feel about this, but I’m focussing on fleshing her out a bit because she is the main character’s significant other.

As for the other major characters, the guy that was meant to be a douche is looking less like a douche and more of an ally. And the soft guy who was supposed to play an emotionally supportive role to the main character is becoming more and more distant.

So I feel like my characters are taking the rein on this story, steering it as they evolve.

As for the plot, I’m doing a weird structure that’s more like a TV show than a novel. My first two chapters were the “opening episodes 1 and 2 back-to-back special” with a high-stakes plot. I’m somewhat satisfied with the resolution seeing that I didn’t know the ending back in November 1. (Honestly, I’m satisfied I resolved stuff at all!)

Now I’m writing episode 3, and hoping to introduce more long-term stakes and plant some seeds for the future. Maybe get a little character tension going, and of course shape out the world a little more.

It’s all adventure from here.

6 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo: Week 2 – What my characters taught me

  1. I love it when your characters turn out differently than you expected. One of the joys of writing 🙂 I find I’m even inventing new characters as I go along and they’re taking more of centre stage than I realized.

    Out of curiosity, are the events in your story also progressing differently than you had thought they would? I’m finding mine are progressing differently than I had thought, which is a nice surprise 🙂

    Like

    • Haha, nope 😛

      As exciting as this project seems, it’s probably going into the vault after November. I have some more concrete projects I’d like to work on first before getting around and fleshing out this one.

      As a rule, I don’t show my work to the “public” until I’m at least a little satisfied with it.

      Like

      • 🙂 Haha. Good call, writing does not have to be read by others & critiqued to have affected your writing style. I hate showing my drafts too. Still, I remember being curious about other ppl’s/author’s processes before (I mean how did that perfect sentence come to be?) I’m horrified, but never turned off by someone else’s bad draft writing…I think…;)

        Like

leave some feedback

