You know you’re a writer when…

I was working on the proof of one of my poems all the morning, and took out a comma. In the afternoon I put it back again.

– Oscar Wilde

I was recently offered to publish a work of mine in my school’s undergraduate journal. The editors – lovely people – sent me back a list of very thoughtful edits. Their suggestions were truly valuable, but of course I had to go back to that editing stage where it’s all:

“Is this good now? Is this better?”

“What about this?”

“…Or this?”

“Am I done?!”

“Is this the best I can do?!”

“What more can I add? What more can I take out?”

“For the love of God, AM I DONE WITH THIS STUPID POEM?!”

So I absolutely sympathize with Oscar Wilde.

Tonight, I finally read my poem out loud in a British accent, acted out a few hand gestures, pretended I was on a podium, felt happy, attached the file to the editor-in-chief, clicked “send”…and promptly closed all my document screens so no flitting afterthoughts could slip under the door.

I’m very excited for the launch party of the issue next week! And will report on it when the time comes. Otherwise, expect a [very short] NaNoWriMo update this weekend (I say short because I haven’t really been writing…due to…reasons…) and take care for the rest of the week!

2 thoughts on “You know you’re a writer when…

leave some feedback

