NaNoWriMo: Week 3 – falling behind but that’s okay (I hope)

NaNoWriMo2014

The third week of NaNoWriMo has passed and I’m losing my game… I’d been pretty good at keeping up the 1,667 words-per-day guideline until this week. I went out many evenings this week and was generally catching up on sleep. I even skipped my morning work-out routine this week, so NaNoWriMo wasn’t the only thing I neglected.

I’m not in a panic though. Through my experience with NaNoWriMo, I’m starting to develop opinions on why it’s a great thing and why it’s not such a great thing. One of the not-so-great things about NaNo is that it takes time out of other things you enjoy and get inspiration from, such as reading. I had a strong desire to read this November, but I could barely squeeze in reading time because of NaNo word count deadlines.

But more on the pros and cons of NaNoWriMo later.

How’s my novel going? It’s at 28,344 words when today it should be at least 36,666. I’ve been struggling with the “where is this going”-ness of my third episode. I took a break from writing for a few days and then, when I sat down to tackle the beast again, I came up with a completely different direction for the episode. And now I have a roadmap as to how it’s going to end. That, my friends, I’m going to work on for what remains of my Saturday.

One thought on “NaNoWriMo: Week 3 – falling behind but that’s okay (I hope)

leave some feedback

